Life Experience

Retail Experience

I have a fairly diverse range of experience on my CV but I’ve always been lacking in retail experience. Until now.

I’ve started working at a small boutique store in the centre of York, on one of its most popular and oldy-worldy streets (not The Shambles) and that means the shop reflects the bricks on which it stands.

I seem to be doing alright. It’s pretty much exactly what I expected it to be except that working in a small shop is *kinda boring*. Even though the street it’s on is a reasonably busy street, full of tourists, crammed with shoppers – it’s a difficult one to navigate if you’re on a mission – the shop can be pretty quiet for long periods of time. And when that happens, time stands still and I suddenly feel under an awful lot of pressure to look like the best shop assistant evar. No. I don’t want to bad mouth, I don’t want to complain. I’m still in the phase of comparing it to my last job at the school and that’s a no-no. The jobs are 100% completely different to each other. I just….

I don’t feel challenged.

I don’t feel like my brain is being pushed, I don’t feel like my creativity is reaching its limit and I’m scared that I’m going to lose my drive. I’m not stimulated, I’m not motivated. You’ll notice I’ve started lacking in writing on my blog and I’m often finding myself sitting at home and staring into space when I’ve finished work or even on a day off.

I’m grateful for the extra dosh it’s giving me. And I’m grateful for the experience that I didn’t have before that I can now place on my CV. I just know more than ever now that I need to move on and kickstart my career. It’s time.

5253222800_622695aae1_b
Current feeling

Leave a comment